Four Star London Hotel


If you are looking for a room at the last minute, we do offer special room rates for people booking within 24 hours of their stay. To find out the best rate please call us:

Georgian House Newsletter!

6 Nations Tournament

A must for the Rugby fan!

Visit London and see the three 6 Nations Rugby matches at Twickenham in February this year. A must for all rugby fans!
6 Nations Tournament

What is the 6 Nations Tournament and How Does it Work?

The 6 Nations is an international rugby competition that takes place every year between the six countries - England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales - hence the name. The format of the competition is as follows:

  1. A team is selected from each country;
  2. Each country plays all of the other countries once with two points being awarded for a win, one for a draw and nothing for a loss.
  3. If a country wins every game, this results in a Grand Slam;
  4. A Triple Crown is awarded to the Home Nation that wins a victory over the other three Home Nations;
  5. A Wooden Spoon is awarded to the last placed nation.

The 6 Nations and the awards have differed from when it was founded, as new awards have been added and the scoring system modified over the years. In some years – especially during the First and Second World Wars, the 6 Nations competition had been cancelled.

A Brief History of the 6 Nations

The 6 Nations competition has its roots in 1871 when England and Scotland played the first rugby union international. These friendly matches carried on being played, on and off, for about twelve years up until 1883 when the first Home International Championship took place between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

France officially joined the tournament in 1910 after playing in four of the tournaments and the competition began to be called the "five nations". The 5 nations were suspended during the two World Wars and France was ejected from the competition during the period of 1932-1939, which meant that the tournament was renamed "Home Nations".

The year 2000 saw Italy join the tournament and therefore it became known as the 6 Nations. Since the 1970s, this tournament is one of the pre-eminent series in the Northern hemisphere rugby union. It is a very popular tournament with a large following on television and tickets are sold out very quickly.

Other Tournaments within the 6 Nations Tournament

There are other competitions for various other trophies within the 6 Nations tournament, these include:

  • The Millennium Trophy - this trophy has been awarded since 1988 to the winner of the game between England and Ireland.
  • The Guiseppe Garibaldi Trophy - this was created in 2007 to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the man who helped unify Italy. This trophy Is awarded to the winner of the match between France and Italy.
  • The Calcutta Cup - awarded since 1879, this is the oldest regular competition and is awarded to the winner of the match between England and Ireland.

The Women’s 6 Nations Tournament

The women’s 6 Nations has been held since 2001 and is in the same format as the main 6 Nations Tournament. The same six countries participate in this since 2007 (Italy replaced Spain).

For more information on visiting this popular event, please visit:

Georgian House Hotel is ideally situated in a very central location, so visiting sights all over London is quick and easy. Why not book Georgian House Hotel when you go to the 6 Nations Tournament? You can book online or email to make a reservation on, or telephone on 0044(0)207 834 1438